Skip to content

If I Had a Crystal Ball

March 8, 2013

Recently, someone asked me the dreaded question: “Where do you see yourself in 10 years?” At first, I was mortified to realize that I have NO idea. I was upset with myself, because, well, how can you really expect to accomplish anything if you don’t have a plan or a vision? Here I am, the person who truly believes that we can create our own futures, the person who is certain that positive visualization can bring about our dreams, without any clue where I want to be in 10 years. It also made me seem (i think) sort of flaky and unambitious (ok – full disclosure – the question was asked on a first date, so there was that extra layer of discomfort and anxiety already there…and potentially some subtext to the question as well) and I was very concerned that not being able to answer just made me seem shallow.
So then I asked a number of you where you see yourselves in 10 years, and the answers (happy, living somewhere warm, retired, etc etc etc) were lovely, but quite unspecific… and I realized… most of us have no real idea where we see ourselves in 10 years. I have NO idea where I see myself in 10 years, and frankly, it doesn’t really matter. If you had asked me that question 10 years ago, I can say without hesitation that my answer would have looked NOTHING like where I am now – and where I am now is pretty great…
I know what I want to be doing right now. I know what I want to be doing tomorrow. I am fairly certain that I know what I want to be doing next month… but beyond that? I need to leave myself open to all of the exciting opportunities that may come along. I need to be able to close my eyes and take a leap – even if it is far off the path that I have begun to carve out for myself. That’s what makes life interesting and fun. Sure, I have dreams, but I’m not so tightly bound to them that I NEED them to happen. What I need is to be in the moment, and enjoy life as it happens… what happens next? I don’t know… but I can’t wait to find out!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

